Events & Awards

Graduate Student Research Recognition Day

Save the date! The tenth-annual Biomedical Sciences Programs Research Recognition Day takes place Tuesday, May 22, 2018, in Coffman Union Great Hall

All faculty, students, postdocs and staff from the biomedical sciences graduate programs are cordially invited. Registration is free, but required.


2018 Program Agenda 

9:00 Welcome: Dr. Colin Campbell, Associate Professor of Pharmacology & Associate Dean for Graduate Education, Medical School  
9:05 – 10:15 Milne Brandenburg Award Winner Flash Talks  
  Lisa Chesner, PHCL Matthew Green, NSCI          
  Rebekah Lawrence, Rehab Sci Nora McCall, NSCI
  Lee Meier, MICaB Chris Richards, PHCL
10:15 – 11:00 Poster Session & CV/Resume Feedback  
11:00 – 12:00 3 Minute Thesis Talk (3MT) Competition  
  Nathaniel Gaut, BMBB Alina Zdechlik, BMBB
  Josh Thiede, MICaB Mark Daniel, MICaB
  Daniel Sorensen, MCDB&G Beth Adamowicz, MICaB
  Amy Molan, BMBB Michael Pickett-Leonard, MCDB&G
12:00 – 1:00 Lunch – Holy Land Catering  
1:00 – 1:15 3MT Competition Winners Announced  
1:15 – 2:15 Keynote Address: Dr. Daria Hazuda: “HIV Drug Discovery; Past Present & Future"  


  • Allison Anderson, Pharmacology
  • Julia Gamache, Neuroscience 
  • Craig Kage, Rehabilitation Science
  • Sarah Namugenyi, MICaB
  • Ajeetha Joseph Rajan, BMBB
  • Caroline Ortiz Cordero, IBP
  • Bryant Keller, MCDB&G
  • Amanda Barks, MSTP (Medical Science Training Program)