Specialty Experts

submenu

Individuals in a specialty are a student's number one resource to learn more about that specialty. A great place to start is with our local Residency Directors.

Their doors are always open, and all students are encouraged to make appointments to meet with any Director in a specialty they may be interested in. In addition to Directors we have Specialty Experts. These are volunteers within each specialty who are there to help students learn more about, and make connections in individual fields.  

Specialty Experts and Residency Directors provide specialty-specific informal networking, student advocacy, and share their insights about their specialty and residency programs in Minnesota and the country.  

 

Emergency Medicine

Jeffrey Adams, MD
Specialty Expert

218-726-7916
jadams2@d.umn.edu

Location: Duluth

Full bio

Felix Ankel, MD
Specialty Expert

ankel001@umn.edu

Location: UMN

Emily Binstadt, MD
Specialty Expert

spil0013@umn.edu

Location: Regions Hospital

Douglas Brunette, MD
Specialty Expert

612-347-5683
db-hcmc@umn.edu

Location: HCMC

Joseph Clinton, MD
Specialty Expert

612-873-3508
clint005@umn.edu

Location: HCMC

Full bio

Bradley Gordon, MD
Specialty Expert

gordo070@umn.edu

Location: Regions Hospital

Richard Gray, MD
Residency Director, Emergency Medicine

grayx022@umn.edu

Location: HCMC

Cullen Hegarty, MD
​Residency Director

hegar002@umn.edu

Location: Regions Hospital

Keith Henry, MD
Specialty Expert

612-624-9996
Keith.D.Henry@HealthPartners.com

Location: Regions Hospital

Full bio

Bradley Hernandez, MD
Specialty Expert

herna018@umn.edu

Location: Regions Hospital

John Hick, MD
Specialty Expert

612-347-5683
hickx003@umn.edu

Location: HCMC

Kurt Isenberger, MD
Specialty Expert

612-347-5683
isenb019@umn.edu

Location: Regions Hospital

Scott Joing, MD
Specialty Expert

612-873-9109
join0011@umn.edu

Location: HCMC

Robert Lefevere, MD
Specialty Expert

lefev022@umn.edu

Location: Regions Hospital

Marc Martel, MD
Specialty Expert

marte018@umn.edu

Location: HCMC

James Miner, MD
Specialty Expert

miner015@umn.edu

Location: HCMC

Robert Reardon, MD
Specialty Expert

reard002@umn.edu

Location: HCMC

Nathaniel Scott, MD
Specialty Expert

scot0384@umn.edu

Internal Medicne / Emergency Medicine Combined residency

Stephen Smith, MD
Specialty Expert

smith253@umn.edu

Location: HCMC

Samuel Stellpflug, MD
Specialty Expert

stell066@umn.edu

Location: Regions Hospital

Drew Zinkel, MD
Specialty Expert

zink0019@umn.edu

Michael Zwank, MD
Specialty Expert

zwank001@umn.edu

Family Medicine

Nicole Chaisson, MD, MPH
Specialty Expert

612-343-7155
chai0027@umn.edu

Location: U of M Medical Center

Full bio

Michael Dukinfield, MD
Specialty Expert

952-993-7710
dukinm@parknicollet.com

Location: Methodist Hospital

Full bio

Casey Martin, MD
Specialty Expert

651-227-6551
marti176@umn.edu

Location: St. Joseph's Hospital

Full bio

Shannon Neale, MD
Specialty Expert

952-993-7700
neale011@umn.edu

Location: Methodist Hospital

Full bio

James Pacala, MD, MS
Associate Head

612-625-0954
pacal001@umn.edu

Full bio

David Power, MD, MPH
Specialty Expert

612-624-2138
power007@umn.edu

Medical Student Education

Full bio

Shailey Prasad, MD, MPH
Specialty Expert

612-302-8200
shailey@umn.edu

Location: North Memorial

Full bio

Jacob Prunuske, MD, MSPH
Specialty Expert

218-726-7227
jprunusk@d.umn.edu

Location: Duluth Campus

Full bio

William Roberts, MD, MS
Specialty Expert

rober037@umn.edu

Location: St. John's Hospital

Full bio

Roger Waage, MD
Specialty Expert

218-529-9122
Roger.Waage@EssentiaHealth.org

Location: Duluth Campus

Full bio

Ruth Westra, DO, MPH
Specialty Expert

218-726-8552
rwestra@d.umn.edu

Location: Duluth Campus

Full bio

Cherilyn Wicks, MD
Specialty Expert

651-223-7354
cwicks@umn.edu

Location: St. Joseph's Hospital

Full bio

Michael Wootten, MD
Specialty Expert

612-302-8200
woote001@umn.edu

Location: North Memorial

Full bio

Laboratory Medicine & Pathology

Juan Manivel, MD
Specialty Expert

maniv001@umn.edu

Deborah Powell, MD
Specialty Expert

612-624-8877
dpowell@umn.edu

Full bio

Internal Medicine

Karyn Baum, MD, MSEd
Specialty Expert

612-625-6370
kbaum@umn.edu

Full bio

Laurel Drevlow, MD
Specialty Expert

612-863-5396
drevl001@umn.edu

Full bio

Briar Duffy, MD, MS
Specialty Expert

612-624-4077
blduffy@umn.edu

Full bio

Alan Johns, MD, MEd
Specialty Expert

218-726-7918
ajohns1@d.umn.edu

Location: Duluth

Full bio

Steven Miles, MD
Specialty Expert

612-624-9440
miles001@umn.edu

Full bio

Brian Muthyala, MD, MPH
Specialty Expert

612-626-0666
muth0011@umn.edu

Internal Medicine / Pediatrics

Full bio

Michael Rhodes, MD
Specialty Expert

612-624-5725
rhod0075@umn.edu

Full bio

Nathaniel Scott, MD
Specialty Expert

scot0384@umn.edu

Internal Medicne / Emergency Medicine Combined residency

Tseganesh Selameab, MD
Specialty Expert

612-873-4059
sela0007@umn.edu

Full bio

M Stillman, MD
Specialty Expert

612-873-2980
still001@umn.edu

Full bio

Neurology

Miguel Fiol, MD
Clerkship Director, Specialty Expert

fiolx001@umn.edu

Full bio

Neurosurgery

Cornelius Lam, MD, PhD
Specialty Expert

612-624-5433, 612-62
lamxx023@umn.edu

Full bio

Ann M. Parr, MD, PhD
Specialty Expert

612-625-4102
amparr@umn.edu

Full bio

Rabia Qaiser, MD
Specialty Expert

773-744-1236
qaise001@umn.edu

Obstetrics & Gynecology

Samantha Hoffman, MD
Specialty Expert

612-626-3111
kehoe018@umn.edu

Full bio

Yasuko Yamamura, MD
Specialty Expert

612-301-3408
yama0095@umn.edu

Full bio

Ophthalmology

Dara Koozekanani, MD, PhD
Specialty Expert

612-625-9600
dkoozeka@umn.edu

Full bio

Joshua H. Olson, MD
Specialty Expert

612-626-0706
olso3675@umn.edu

Full bio

Orthopaedic Surgery

Elizabeth Arendt, MD
Specialty Expert

612-273-9400
arend001@umn.edu

Full bio

Alicia Harrison, MD
Specialty Expert

612-273-9400
harri736@umn.edu

Full bio

Jeffrey Macalena, MD
Specialty Expert

612-273-9400
maca0049@umn.edu

Full bio

Patrick Morgan, MD
Specialty Expert

612-273-9400
morga050@umn.edu

Full bio

Bradley Nelson, MD
Specialty Expert

612-273-9400
nels5101@umn.edu

Full bio

Ann Van Heest, MD
Specialty Expert

612-273-9400

Full bio

Otolaryngology

Pediatrics

Richard Andersen, MD
Specialty Expert

ander243@umn.edu

John Andrews, MD
Specialty Expert

612-626-4009
andrews@umn.edu

Full bio

Sonja Colianni, MD
Specialty Expert

Full bio

Thomas George, MD
Specialty Expert

612-624-6595
tgeorge@umn.edu

Full bio

Plastic Surgery

Umar Choudry, MD
Specialty Expert

612-625-1933
choud008@umn.edu

Full bio

Psychiatry

Radiology

Surgery

Robert Acton, MD
Specialty Expert

612-626-4214
acton002@umn.edu

Full bio

Kaysie Banton, MD
Specialty Expert

612-625-7911
banto001@umn.edu

Full bio

Maria Evasovich, MD
Specialty Expert

612-625-2991
evaso001@umn.edu

Full bio

Rosemary Kelly, MD
Specialty Expert

612-725-2148
kelly071@umn.edu

Full bio

Therapeutic Radiology

Kathryn Dusenbery, MD
Specialty Expert

612-626-6146
dusen001@umn.edu

Full bio

Urology

No Results