Department of Medicine welcomes new leader

Peter Igarashi, M.D.

The University of Minnesota Medical School’s largest department has a new leader. Peter Igarashi, M.D., began his tenure as head of the Department of Medicine and holder of the Nesbitt Chair on December 31. He succeeds Wesley Miller, M.D., who had held the positions since 2008.

“Dr. Igarashi’s emphasis on team science, building global partnerships, and delivering clinical excellence is precisely right for the role,” says Medical School Dean Brooks Jackson, M.D., M.B.A.

Igarashi comes to Minnesota from the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, where he was a professor of internal medicine and pediatrics, chief of the Division of Nephrology at UT Southwestern Medical Center, and director of the UT Southwestern O’Brien Kidney Research Core Center. Before that, he held a faculty position at Yale University School of Medicine.

Igarashi earned his M.D. in 1981 from UCLA’s School of Medicine. He completed his internship and residency training in internal medicine at the University of California, Davis Medical Center before completing a nephrology fellowship at Yale University School of Medicine.

At the University of Minnesota, Igarashi plans to continue his National Institutes of Health-funded projects, which focus on kidney development, transcriptional regulation, and polycystic kidney disease.

“Internal medicine is divided into clinical subspecialties, but research concepts cross disciplines,” says Igarashi. “I look forward to facilitating clinical trials and building on existing strengths in health services research and medical informatics to develop multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary programs with global impact.”

Published on May 18, 2015