Microbiology & Immunology Centennial

microbiology centennial

The Department of Microbiology and Immunology will celebrate its centennial on Friday, July 19, 2019. The celebration will include a symposium at the McNamara Alumni Center, a student poster session, opportunity to tour the Microbiology Research Facility, and an evening dinner and program.

Symposium speakers will include:

  • Christopher Contag, PhD, Professor and Chair, Department of Biomedical Engineering, and Director, Institute for Quantitative Health Science and Engineering, Michigan State University, East Lansing, MI
  • Pamela Contag, PhD, Chief Executive Officer, BioEclipse Therapeutics, San Jose, CA
  • Lynn W. Enquist, PhD, Henry L. Hillman Professor in Molecular Biology, Princeton University, Princeton, NJ
  • John T. Harty, PhD, Professor and Mark Stinski Chair in Microbial Immunology, Departments of Microbiology & Immunology and Pathology, University of Iowa College of Medicine
  • Alan Hauser, MD, PhD, Vice Chair and Professor, Department of Microbiology-Immunology and Professor of Medicine, Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine, Chicago, IL
  • David Mills, PhD, Peter J. Shields Chair in Dairy Food Science and Professor, Departments of Viticulture & Enology and Food Science & Technology, University of California, Davis, CA
  • Kevin Urdahl, MD, PhD, Professor, Center for Global Infectious Disease Research, Seattle Children’s Hospital, and affiliate professor at the University of Washington, Seattle, WA
  • Christopher Waters, PhD, Associate Professor, Department of Microbiology & Molecular Genetics, Michigan State University, East Lansing, MI