Resident Awards

All resident awards will be distributed directly through the University of Minnesota's Payroll department and student awards will be distributed through the Office of Student Finance.

Burke Memorial Award

The $750 Dr. Leonard P. Burke Memorial Award recognizes a graduating family medicine resident for unique service contributions. Selection is made by the Department of Family Medicine and Community Health.

Bizal Peterson Memorial Award

The Mary Bizal Peterson Memorial Award is presented to the senior medical student planning a residency in neurology at the University of Minnesota who is judged the best candidate by a Department of Neurology selection committee.

Ernst Award in Pathology

The Dr. Kenneth F. Ernst Award in Pathology recognizes superior research in pathology by University medical or graduate students, residents, or fellows. The award amount is not fixed. Selection is made by the Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathology.

Excellence in Geriatric Scholarship Awards

Two Awards for Excellence in Geriatric Scholarship are presented each year by the Department of Family Medicine and Community Health: a $1000 award to a medical student and $2,000 award to a resident. Any University of Minnesota medical student or resident may submit a paper for consideration.