Monthly Student Meetings

submenu

Archived Monthly Student Meeting schedules

The student-organized MSTP monthly meetings are held on the second Monday of each month. Meetings will cover a range of topics, including science/research presentations by students and faculty guest speakers, career development discussions and panels, networking opportunities with other physician scientists, and social activities. These meetings will also provide students with updates on the Program and the Medical School, and an opportunity to provide feedback to the Director and MSTP Student Advisory Committee on program activities. The monthly program meetings are an essential element of the MSTP and attendance by all MSTP students is mandatory.

2016-2017 schedule

Monday, September 19, 2016
Guest speaker - Leslie Kean, MD, PhD
Associate Professor of Pediatrics
University of Washington
6:00 PM
2-120 MCB

Monday, October 17, 2016
Research Presentations - Michelle Corkrum, Cliff Csizmar
6:00 PM
2-120 MCB

Monday, November 14, 2016
Research PresentationMelvin Donaldson
6:00 PM
2-120 MCB

Tuesday, December 6, 2016
MSTP Social
5:30 PM
Atrium of CCRB

Monday, January 9, 2017
Research Presentations - Lauren Jelenchick, Brian Sweis
6:00 PM
2-120 MCB

Monday, February 13, 2017
Topic TBA
6:00 PM
 
2-120 MCB

Monday, March 6, 2017
Research Presentations - Balvindar Singh, Brian Mikolajczyk
6:00 PM
2-120 MCB

Monday, April 10, 2017
MSTP graduation celebration
6:00 PM
Stub & Herb's

Monday, May 8, 2017
Guest Speaker - Ezra Golberstein, PhD
Associate Professor
UMN School of Public Health
"Health policy in the current political landscape"
6:00 PM
2-122 MCB

Monday, June 12, 2017
Guest Speaker - Terri Young, MD, MBA
Professor of Opthalmology, Pediatrics and Medical Genetics
University of Wisconsin
6:00 PM
2-120 MCB

July-August, 2017
No meetings: Annual Retreat and Summer Break